Welcome Visitor: Login to the siteJoin the site

Rugby World Cup 1987-2011

Article By: llll

History from the 1987 - 2011 IRB RWC

Submitted:Jun 20, 2012    Reads: 16    Comments: 0    Likes: 0   

The inaugural tournament back in 1987 was hosted and co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. In the Semi's, New Zealand beat Wales, and France beat Australia. In the Final New Zealand beat France by 29-9. The 1991 tournament was hosted by eventual finalist England who beat Scotland in the Semi 9-6, NZL lost to Australia 16-6, Australia went on to win the WORLD CUP beating England 12-6 The 1995 tournament saw South Africa's first appearance. They got to the Final along with New Zealand, South Africa's Joel Stransky kicked a Drop Goal in extra time to grab the win. 15-12. The 1999 tournament in Wales had the biggest upset in World Cup history, France beat New Zealand 43-31, they lost in the Final against Australia, Aussie grabbed their second title 35-12. In 2003 Australia were the hosts and the current World Champions. But it looked to be New Zealands tournament. But the All Blacks lost 22-10 against Australia. England got to the Final aswell. The Final went into Extra time, 17-17 with only 20 seconds to go England's Jonny Wilkinson made a weak-footed drop goal to win the world cup 20-17. The 2007 World Cup was hosted by France, now everyone knew one thing. New Zealand to win. BUT THE OLD GHOSTS REVISIT. France V New Zealand Quarter-Final. France beat the AB'S, and it was the first time NZL had been knocked out in the Quarter-Final, France were lucky though because they scored a Try from a clear forward pass, but the current champions England got to the Final along with South Africa, No tries scored but RSA won by 15-6 to win their second trophy. Now 4 years later it's 2011, New Zealand hoping to put a 24-year blowout behind them. Unbeaten in pool stages, they beat Argentina 33-10 in the Quarter-Final, beat Australia in the semi 20-6, France got to the Final aswell. Beating Wales just narrowly 9-8 in the Semi's. NZ'S Tony Woodcock scored the first try in the 13th minute. It was 5-0 at half time, then Stephen Donald got his debut for the World Cup and kicked a penaltie to make it 8-0, Frances Captain Thierry Dusautoir scored a try right after, the conversion went over. New Zealand were about to kick it out , but then... FRANCE were OFFSIDE! After 24 years it finally happened!!! 8-7 the lowest scoring final EVER!!!


| Email this story Email this Article | Add to reading list


About | News | Contact | Your Account | TheNextBigWriter | Self Publishing | Advertise

© 2013 TheNextBigWriter, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Terms under which this service is provided to you. Privacy Policy.