The House

Reads: 157  | Likes: 2  | Shelves: 1  | Comments: 4

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Pinterest
  • Invite

Status: In Progress  |  Genre: Horror  |  House: Booksie Classic

Prompt: "The house did not stand as a beacon on the hill..."

 

 

 

The House

The House did not stand as a beacon on the hill; 
As a torch alight with courage for the traveler in the night; 
If a fire ever burned there, it lay desolate and still
With the silver face of full moon to provide the only light.

The house did not stand as a beacon or a flame, 
But sat dark above the moorland shrouded deep in ghostly mist

Home to only souls forgotten both by history and by name--
Calling, crying to the shadows for the paradise they missed.

Wailing women haunt the windows whispering questions to the glass
While their children play perpetually below in dusty halls
And a nameless wraith smiles darkly at the souls of those who pass, 
Showing proudly in its nature all the traces of its Fall.

No, the house could never stand as a beacon on the hill, 
And the only fire which burns there is a flame from far below--
Any wand'rer seeking refuge must fall victim to the Chill
And keep company with all those who may stay, but never go.

Bridget Kennedy

 

 


Submitted: August 11, 2020

© Copyright 2021 Bridget Kennedy. All rights reserved.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Pinterest
  • Invite

Add Your Comments:

Comments

Rob73

An eerie short horror poem.
It is in the vein of Shirley Jackson, and Edgar Alan Poe.

Tue, August 11th, 2020 3:24am

hullabaloo22

A very haunting and atmospheric piece of poetry.

Tue, August 11th, 2020 6:49pm

Facebook Comments

Other Content by Bridget Kennedy

Poem / Poetry

Poem / Poetry

Book / Flash Fiction