Topic: Creating Characters

When I write a story, I come up with the idea. The idea just pops into my head. Or I go through a few writing prompts to force it. I come up with the story first. I maybe write a bare outline. Then when I get to a point where I can no longer keep calling my characters "the man", "the woman", "the teenager", etc. I give them names. But still, I don't know my character, I don't have them all fleshed out until I've gotten into writing the first draft of my story. Then I gradually come up with my character's backstory as necessary. Maybe I come up with a great twist in their past for future reference. But as I write the story I meet them and get to know them as I would a normal person.
I do the plot, then the character. And I know that's not how a lot of people do it. I learned from other people to flesh out my characters first, maybe even, as an artist myself, design them, draw them out, give them hobbies, setting, whatever, then come up with the story based off the character. But, I just never found that working for me. What do you guys think? What works for you when creating characters for stories? Love to hear.

Re: Creating Characters

There is no right way or wrong way there is only the way the works best for you.

I get to know most of the main characters in my stories before I start them, but sometimes a minor character will suddenly step into the spotlight and I have to get to know them as I write.

I used to just wing it but then as i would be writing it would find it difficult trying to remember a characters parents, hobbies etc and decided to on a word document make a table where In each section is something different for example you have their name;
What their childhood was like: good , bad, poor, rich- later go more in detail
Parent's Names; If they are married
Grandparents, Great grandparents, Aunts. Uncles etc