Literary-fiction stories, books, poems, and more

56 results

When I was older, I was a saxophonist. I was one of the last living saxophonists before the instrument was banned and all saxophones were melted down to help the war effort. Read More

Reads: 154

Comments: 4

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

The train doesn’t stop. There are no stations, no visible settlements. No landmarks, no buildings, no farms, nothing. I don’t know where the train is heading. The terrain comprises miles upon miles of wilderness, woodland and barren scrub. I can’t remember anything else. When did I start out? It feels… Read More
What is the secret behind the black disc? Read More
A short story about the end of an abusive relationship. Read More
A son visits his father, a barber. Read More
It all began when my electric kettle exploded. One expects setbacks now and again. But, they seem to happen at the worst possible time. Because the government had for some undisclosed reason not paid my pension for two successive months, I had no money to replace the kettle................. Read More
Caracoles. ABCinC Indic Irony the metaphoric medley of a melange pour mange WIT sussPensee Oaf day's Beliefs. Jouer sur les mots. The pun pulling a fast one on a slow coach. The swell disTempered Cleaver Err in two vices. Serious and Cynical with Comic Relief as the interlude [obviously UNINVITED]… Read More

Reads: 267

Comments: 1

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

40 years ago humans started blasting all their trash off-planet. A few weeks ago, trash started falling from the sky, but it doesn't look anything like what was sent away. Is the trash first contact with an alien race or our own refuse come back to choke the planet? As… Read More

Short Story / Humor

December 20, 2018

Reads: 146

Comments: 2

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

Everyone knows that war is hell but two ambassadors learn that negotiating peace can be just a dangerous in this absurdist tale of diplomacy gone wrong. Read More

Reads: 226

Comments: 5

Shelves: 2

The Booksie Classic House

A new short story Read More

Reads: 274

Comments: 7

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

Not so long ago, it was becoming recognised that at 3:13 a.m. each morning, everyone heard something disturbing that gave them a jolt and caused the heart to skip a beat. The rogue sound was not the same for everyone. For some, it was the tolling of a distant bell,… Read More

Reads: 213

Comments: 5

The Booksie Classic House

I often come here to sit and watch the boats. I do not know much about boats or seafaring but I find the ebb and flow of the tides and the toing and froing of the vessels to be a kind of meditation. I understand a little about the… Read More
For fans of The Atlantis Gene, The Hunger Games, and Red Rising, this high-suspense, action-filled, sci-fi novel continues the story of a teenager from the outback who finds himself fighting for his survival. In a race against time, now he learns it's not only his life but the existence… Read More
This is the beginning excerpt of a novel I am writing that is currently untitled. It is out of the development stages, meaning I have the story and it is fully written. I'm currently editing it for content and plot holes, as well as grammar. My plan is to… Read More
This is the book to the magical world of the 'Great Hex', a world invisible to human eyes. ********************************************** INTRODUCTION - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Characters: … Read More

Reads: 293

Comments: 4

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

I’ve woken up wondering just how far is it from Phoenix to Albuquerque and where did Glen Campbell set out from in the first place? Las Vegas? Los Angeles? San Diego? It’s 3 am. Where has this rogue train of thought come from? I’m not even particularly fond of… Read More
Astronomers meeting with bad accidents all around the globe had a secret they wanted you to know... Teams of hired assassins are on the loose, governments go into lockdown, and along with a global economic collapse a third world war is about to erupt. On top of the manmade… Read More
Writers of self-help books are fond of telling you that life always offers you a second chance, it is called tomorrow. This is all very well. It's something you can look forward to. But, what if you could have your second chance yesterday? This would mean that you still… Read More
I open the front door to discover a large package on the doorstep. I did not hear anyone deliver it while I was getting ready to for work, or see anyone from the window. It's huge. What can it be? I try to think of something I might have… Read More

Reads: 297

Comments: 4

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

No one sees him arrive. No-one spots the silver Solstice slide silently through the streets on its way to the big house with the crow-stepped gables on Obsidian Street. It is night-time in the sleepy town. Seeing the sleek Pontiac Solstice outside the house the following morning, townsfolk might… Read More

Short Story / Romance

February 15, 2018

Reads: 441

Comments: 4

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

Why are there no stars, tonight? What is happening? Read More

Reads: 263

Comments: 1

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

Cold and blue, the house has a coat waiting for him. Read More

Reads: 387

Comments: 9

Shelves: 2

The Booksie Classic House

Warchester - Twinned with Area 51, the sign said. This ought to have triggered alarm bells but it didn't. Area 51 was just a remote place in the US that I had heard reference to in random conversations. At the time, I knew little about the clandestine goings-on there.… Read More

Poem / Literary Fiction

September 07, 2017

Reads: 296

Comments: 2

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

A short poem about being yourself, by paulball06. Read More
Prepared to give his forgiveness, a son visits a wayward father only to end up confronting himself with a pang of indignation over their family's plight. Seeing the truth of his father's choice, he ponders whether he would truly forgive his father... or commit a crime to forget. Read More

Reads: 488

Comments: 4

The Booksie Classic House

A jazz musician making his way down an Exeter street on a Wednesday morning with a charity shop bag full of bargain books can hardly be blamed for failing to notice that he is being tailed by a tall, thin man in a dark overcoat. Musicians are more accustomed to… Read More
Booksie 2019 Short Story Contest

Welcome New Writers