Literary-fiction stories, books, poems, and more

44 results

Reads: 35

Comments: 5

The Booksie Classic House

I often come here to sit and watch the boats. I do not know much about boats or seafaring but I find the ebb and flow of the tides and the toing and froing of the vessels to be a kind of meditation. I understand a little about the… Read More
For fans of The Atlantis Gene, The Hunger Games, and Red Rising, this high-suspense, action-filled, sci-fi novel continues the story of a teenager from the outback who finds himself fighting for his survival. In a race against time, now he learns it's not only his life but the existence… Read More
This is the beginning excerpt of a novel I am writing that is currently untitled. It is out of the development stages, meaning I have the story and it is fully written. I'm currently editing it for content and plot holes, as well as grammar. My plan is to… Read More
This is the book to the magical world of the 'Great Hex', a world invisible to human eyes. ********************************************** INTRODUCTION - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Characters: … Read More

Reads: 87

Comments: 4

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

I’ve woken up wondering just how far is it from Phoenix to Albuquerque and where did Glen Campbell set out from in the first place? Las Vegas? Los Angeles? San Diego? It’s 3 am. Where has this rogue train of thought come from? I’m not even particularly fond of… Read More
Astronomers meeting with bad accidents all around the globe had a secret they wanted you to know... Teams of hired assassins are on the loose, governments go into lockdown, and along with a global economic collapse a third world war is about to erupt. On top of the manmade… Read More
Writers of self-help books are fond of telling you that life always offers you a second chance, it is called tomorrow. This is all very well. It's something you can look forward to. But, what if you could have your second chance yesterday? This would mean that you still… Read More
I open the front door to discover a large package on the doorstep. I did not hear anyone deliver it while I was getting ready to for work, or see anyone from the window. It's huge. What can it be? I try to think of something I might have… Read More

Reads: 103

Comments: 4

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

No one sees him arrive. No-one spots the silver Solstice slide silently through the streets on its way to the big house with the crow-stepped gables on Obsidian Street. It is night-time in the sleepy town. Seeing the sleek Pontiac Solstice outside the house the following morning, townsfolk might… Read More

Short Story / Romance

February 15, 2018

Reads: 191

Comments: 4

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

Why are there no stars, tonight? What is happening? Read More

Reads: 82

Comments: 1

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

Cold and blue, the house has a coat waiting for him. Read More

Reads: 156

Comments: 9

Shelves: 2

The Booksie Classic House

Warchester - Twinned with Area 51, the sign said. This ought to have triggered alarm bells but it didn't. Area 51 was just a remote place in the US that I had heard reference to in random conversations. At the time, I knew little about the clandestine goings-on there.… Read More

Poem / Literary Fiction

September 07, 2017

Reads: 115

Comments: 2

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

A short poem about being yourself, by paulball06. Read More
Prepared to give his forgiveness, a son visits a wayward father only to end up confronting himself with a pang of indignation over their family's plight. Seeing the truth of his father's choice, he ponders whether he would truly forgive his father... or commit a crime to forget. Read More

Reads: 220

Comments: 4

The Booksie Classic House

A jazz musician making his way down an Exeter street on a Wednesday morning with a charity shop bag full of bargain books can hardly be blamed for failing to notice that he is being tailed by a tall, thin man in a dark overcoat. Musicians are more accustomed to… Read More
No matter where you might be, the night train rumbles through every night at 3:05 am. Its low-pitched drone makes the whole room quake. Every time this happens, you find it disturbing. You briefly speculate as to what its ominous cargo might be and vow to find out, before going… Read More

Reads: 538

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

A gay man's upbringing transmogrifies into denial, insanity, and violence. Read More

Reads: 202

Comments: 5

The Booksie Classic House

On occasions, just for a moment, everything seems in place. For this brief spell of time, a supernatural force seems to be at work. There is equilibrium in the universe. It might be referred to by some as an epiphany, an insight through the divine. Here at the top of… Read More
The protagonist is a writer on holiday looking for characters for a story. The narrative charts his progress and the surprising results. Read More
How many roads must a man walk down, wonders Dylan Song? He feels he has been trudging around the streets of Dalmouth for ages, yet he still can’t find the café where he is due to meet Frankie Lee. He seems to be going round in circles and getting nowhere.… Read More

Reads: 443

Comments: 6

The Booksie Classic House

Where is the 8:39 train and why are all thses strange things happening, Max wonders as he waits on Churston Stoney station. Read More
Penny is alone. Who is waking her up at 4 in the morning and why? Read More
What happens when you open yourself up to the universe? Read More

Reads: 335

Comments: 8

Shelves: 1

The Booksie Classic House

Who is the spectral old man that keeps appearing out of the blue? Read More
It is said that everyone who looks into their family history will sooner or later discover a deep dark secret, some unexpected turn of events. Time is a slippery customer. There are inherent dangers in unearthing the past. You never know what you might find. Perhaps the past should be… Read More
Whos is Wet Blanket Ron, from the acclaimed series? We find out here. Read More
Tickle My Funny Bone Comedy Writing Contest 2018

Welcome New Writers