Mark Binmore Profile

Silver Writer BadgeSilver Writer BadgeBronze Writer BadgeBronze Writer BadgeBronze Writer BadgeBronze Writer BadgeBronze Writer BadgeBronze Writer BadgeBronze Writer BadgeBronze Writer Badge

Mark Binmore

Location: London, United Kingdom

Gender: M

Member Since: August 2013

Last online: November 2018

Open for read requests: Yes

Subscribe to Mark Binmore's portfolio via RSS

Featured by author

Profile Information

Mark Binmore (born 1971) is a British novelist, author of Now Is Not The Time For Trumpets and many other books. In 2015 Mark was ranked one of Britain's 100 new influential gay and lesbian writers  It was declared that 'he is widely regarded as one of Britain's most promising novelists, quite regardless of sexuality'.  Some of the novels by Mark Binmore are engaged in the excavation of secret histories in the teasing out and restoration of events that have taken place beneath the surface of society.  Mark was the subject of Tour De Europa (2015) a book by Chris Henson who followed Mark on his book tour and wrote an observational account of a new author on the road.  A further book detailing his 2016 American book tour is set to be published December 2016 under the title - Versus America.

Now Is Not The Time For Trumpets (2014) is a fictional memoir of a beautiful, bright young thing Stephen Wallingford.  Flitting between the past and present, an account of loss, love, regret is explained through the means of an interview.  The book was nominated for two international book awards and is currently being adapted for the stage.  A Life Of Parties (2015) takes up one character featured in Trumpets, Agatha Dewsbury and her life story is presented as a fictional biography.  In her short life, Agatha Dewsbury changed from a suburban daughter to a darling of the newspaper gossip pages only to be scandalized and shamefully snubbed and ignored by friends and common folk alike.   Both Trumpets and Parties were published together in one special edition Simply Divine (2015).

A Sorta Fairytale (2015) brings together his complete collection of short stories and prose with new liner notes.  The collection features all works previously published in Even When Tonight Is Over (2010), The Hair Of The Hound (2011), Hounds Of Winter (2013) Jig Of Life (2014) Soon Before The Sun (2014) and Ember Asleep (2014).  Jig Of Life was published in USA and Canada as The J.  

Take Down The Flags (2016) gives stories, poems and memories from May 1945 and has reflections of war from both sides, a chance to look back, to echo on a period of conflict., to laugh, to cry, to relive the pain, the sorrow and the gratitude, but most of all,  to make you live again.

Nemesis (2016) is a brand new collection of prose.  Nemesis has an arrangement of journeys, in the rain; through the length of a lifetime; amongst history, between emotions; and journeys across great oceans. So although it’s not a ‘themed’ collection of words, as such, there is an underlying connection between the pieces.   

Mark has also published two memoirs, In Search Of The Fabulous People (2009) and Reflections – Through The Orb Window (2016).  Initial copies of Ember Asleep came with a bonus music disc titled Aspects Of Ember Asleep featuring six pieces set to music. A standalone single Vortex has also been released via Spilt Milk Records.

Mark is currently writing a new novel alongside two collections of recipes, Christmas and Kitchen and a co-authored project with Jim Harm provisionally titled Kiss The Sky.  Mark has also published two novels under a nom de plum.


This is where you can leave a short message for the writer. All Quickees are public. To leave a private message, use the private messaging system.

If you want to write a quickee (a remark or a hint for example) on this writer's profile, please sign in.

Flash Fiction Summer 2021 Writing Contest image

Fans of Mark Binmore:

Mark Binmore is a member of: